ما هو دودة المخملية؟

دودة المخملية، التي تنتمي إلى جنس المعروف للعلماء كما حاملات المخالب، هو حيوان بري الاستوائية التي يتردد المظلمة، الرطبة، وبيئات رطوبة الغنية. عينات كبيرة من هذه اللافقاريات آكلة اللحوم يمكن قياس ما يصل إلى ثمانية بوصات طويلة وعادة ما واجهت بين المتحللة الخشب في الطابق الغابات المطيرة. وهناك نحو 180 نوعا مسجل دودة المخملية، وكثير منها التلوين مميزة وعلامات، وعلى الرغم من سلوكهم قد جذبت الكثير من الاهتمام، والعلماء المهتمين خاصة في حاملات المخالب لأن السكان لم يتعرض تطور كبير في 500 مليون سنة.

مظهر

حاملات المخالب ( 'حملة مخلب') لها الجلد الخارجي تبحث على نحو سلس وقدم قصير ممتلئ قصيرة مميز مجهزة مخالب معقوفة ليفية. على عكس المفصليات (مئويات والعناكب)، الذين تربطهم بشكل وثيق، حاملات المخالب لا تمتلك هيكل عظمي الثابت. بدلا من ذلك لديهم، جسم الهاتف ضغط السوائل المغلقة في الجلد للماء. وتتكون هذه الطبقة الجلدية مثل سبيكة تماما من الحليمات: الدمامل لحمي صغيرة جدا أو لوحات متداخلة التي تشكل آلية الحسية نقل باللمس والشم، وأيضا تعطي هذه الديدان التي تميز مظهر مخملي بهم.

الخصائص

وجود أي شيء 13-43 قدم، حاملات المخالب تملص جنبا إلى جنب عن طريق تغيير ضغط السائل داخل أقدامهم جوفاء. لديهم اثنين من وسائط متميزة من المشي، وذلك باستخدام مخالبهم القوية لكسب الجر على السطوح الخشنة، ثم التحول إلى "سائد" مملوءة بسائل لشروط تطالب أقل. هذا الاعتماد بشكل أساسي على سوائل الجسم يجعل دودة المخملية، مشتركة مع معظم الأنواع دودة، عرضة للآثار الجفاف من أشعة الشمس ويعني هذا الحيوان هو المنعزل عموما بعد يوم، والصيد ليلا أو خلال فترات من الطقس الرطب.

ولعل الميزة الأكثر إثارة من حاملات المخالب هي قدرتها على تنبعث منها كميات الوحل عندما صيد الفريسة. وبعد أن تقع أولا وكمين اللافقاريات الصغيرة، تستخدم دودة المخملية اثنين من الغدد قوية وضعه على رأسه للرش بسرعة طبقة من الوحل على الضحية. هذه المادة اللاصقة المخاط يصلب بسرعة، والسماح للدودة لإدارة لدغة قاتلة ثم ضخ ما يكفي من اللعاب إلى الجرح الناتجة لكسر الأعضاء الداخلية للضحية إلى "شوربة" سهل الهضم. وتشير الملاحظات الميدانية لهذه الهجمات التي ففي أعقاب والديدان هي دائما حريصة على استيعاب أي بقايا الوحل، التي من شأنها أن توحي التطيين هو استراتيجية كثيفة الاستهلاك للطاقة للصياد.

التاريخ التطوري

وقد تبين أن حفريات عمرها 500 مليون من العصر الكمبري المبكرة تبدو متشابهة بشكل ملحوظ على العيش حاملات المخالب. ومع ذلك، يتضح من الأدلة أيضا هذه المخلوقات الأحفوري عاش حياة البحرية، ويعتقد أن التغير التطوري الرئيسي لنمط الحياة الأرضية يجب أن يكون حدث بين في وقت لاحق 10 و 70 مليون سنة. على الرغم مقارنة دقيقة من السجلات الأحفورية مع أنواع الكائنات الحية صعبة المعروف، palaeontologists ومع ذلك يعتقد قريب الشبه بين المفصليات وحاملات المخالب سيبلغ مهمة إعادة سلف المفصلية المشترك.

سلوك

وقد كشفت الدراسات دليلا على التسلسلات الهرمية الاجتماعية القوية. على سبيل المثال، يشكل أحد الأنواع المستعمرات الأمومية التي تسيطر عليها الأنثى المسيطرة واحد. لهذه المجموعات، والصيد هو النشاط المجتمعي الذي الغنائم اللاحقة التي يتمتع دائما وفقا للرتبة، ويعاقبون بشكل روتيني أقل شأنا طابور القفز عن التجاوزات التعليمات البرمجية.

التكاثر الجنسي هو القاعدة لحاملات المخالب - على الرغم من تكاثر parthenogenic يحدث في نوع واحد للنساء فقط. وبعد الإخصاب، وفترة الحمل التي يمكن أن تمتد إلى 15 شهرا، وكلها تقريبا حاملات المخالب تحمل يعيش الشباب. لا توجد مرحلة تنموية واضحة، لذلك عند الولادة، كل دودة صغيرة يوصل تبحث تماما مثل نسخة طبق الأصل الكبار صغير.

What is a Velvet Worm?

The Velvet Worm, which belongs to a genus better known to scientists as Onychophora, is a tropical land animal which frequents dark, humid, moisture-rich environments. Large specimens of these carnivorous invertebrates can measure up to eight inches long and are typically encountered amongst decaying wood on the rainforest floor. There are around 180 recorded species of velvet worm, many of which have distinctive colouring and markings, and though their behaviour has attracted much attention, scientists are particularly interested in onychophora because the population has experienced no significant evolution in 500 million years.

Appearance

Onychophora ('claw bearers') have a smooth-looking outer skin and characteristically short stumpy feet equipped with fibrous hooked claws. Unlike arthropods (centipedes and spiders), to whom they are closely related, onychophora do not possess a hard skeleton. Instead they have a pressurised, fluid-filled body enclosed in a waterproof skin. This slug-like skin layer consists entirely of papillae: very small fleshy dimples or overlapping plates which form a sensory mechanism conveying touch and smell, and also give these worms their distinguishing velvety appearance.

Characteristics

Having anything from 13 to 43 feet, onychophora wriggle along by altering the fluid pressure inside their hollow feet. They have two distinct modes of walking, using their robust claws to gain traction on rough surfaces, and then switching to fluid-filled 'cushions' for less-demanding conditions. This primary dependence on body fluids makes the velvet worm, in common with most worm species, very vulnerable to the drying effects of sunshine and means the animal is generally reclusive by day, hunting overnight or otherwise during spells of damp weather.

Perhaps the most spectacular feature of onychophora is their ability to emit quantities of slime when hunting prey. Having first located and ambushed a smaller invertebrate, the velvet worm uses two powerful glands positioned on its head to quickly spray a layer of slime over its victim. This adhesive mucus substance hardens rapidly, allowing the worm to administer a fatal bite and then inject enough saliva into the resultant wound to break down the victim's internal organs into an easily digestible 'soup'. Field observations of these attacks show that, during the aftermath, worms are always keen to ingest any slime remnants, which would suggest sliming is an energy-intensive strategy for the hunter.

Evolutionary history

It has been shown that 500-million-year-old fossils from the early Cambrian period look remarkably similar to living onychophora. However, the evidence also reveals these fossil creatures lived a marine existence, and it is believed the major evolutionary change to a terrestrial lifestyle must have occurred between 10 and 70 million years later. Though accurate comparison of fossil records with living species is notoriously difficult, palaeontologists nevertheless believe the close similarities between arthropods and onychophora will inform the task of reconstructing a common arthropod ancestor.

Behaviour

Studies have revealed evidence of strong social hierarchies. For instance, one species forms matriarchal colonies controlled by one dominant female. For these groups, hunting is a communal activity in which the subsequent spoils are always enjoyed according to rank, and queue-jumping inferiors are routinely punished for code transgressions.

Sexual reproduction is the norm for onychophora - though parthenogenic reproduction occurs in one female-only species. Following fertilisation, and a gestation period which can extend to 15 months, almost all onychophora bear live young. There is no visible developmental phase, so at birth, each tiny worm arrives looking exactly like a small adult replica.