什麼是天鵝絨蠕蟲?

天鵝絨蠕蟲,屬於科學家更知名的一個屬,是一個熱帶的土地動物,常常在黑暗,潮濕,水分豐富的環境。這些食肉無脊椎動物的大樣本可測量長達八英寸,通常在雨林地板上的腐爛木材中遇到。有大約180種記錄的天鵝絨蠕蟲物種,其中許多具有獨特的著色和標記,並且雖然它們的行為已經引起了很大的關注,科學家對甲基皮草特別感興趣,因為人口在5億年中沒有經歷顯著的進化。

出現

Onychophora(“爪支撐”)具有光滑外觀的外觀和特徵的短的殘肢腳配備纖維鉤狀爪。與節肢動物(蜈蚣和蜘蛛)不同,它們與之緊密相關,甲亢不具有硬骨架。相反,它們具有封閉在防水錶層中的加壓的流體填充體。該lug狀皮膚層完全由乳頭組成:非常小的肉質漣漪或重疊板,其形成傳達觸覺和氣味的感覺機制,並且還賦予這些蠕蟲以其區別的天鵝絨外觀。

特性

有13至43英尺的任何東西,甲骨靈通過改變他們的空心腳內的流體壓力扭動。他們有兩種不同的行走模式,使用他們堅固的爪在粗糙的表面上獲得牽引力,然後切換到流體填充的“墊子”,以滿足不太苛刻的條件。這種對體液的主要依賴使得天鵝絨蠕蟲與大多數蠕蟲物種一樣,非常容易受到陽光的干燥效應的影響,並且意味著動物通常天天隱瞞,一夜間狩獵,或在潮濕的天氣期間狩獵。

也許最精彩的特徵是它們在捕獵獵物時發射大量粘液的能力。首先找到並伏擊一個較小的無脊椎動物,天鵝絨蠕蟲使用兩個強大的腺體定位在它的頭上快速噴塗一層粘液在其受害者。這種粘性粘液物質迅速硬化,允許蠕蟲給予致命的咬傷,然後將足夠的唾液注入傷口,以將受害者的內部器官分解成易於消化的“湯”。這些攻擊的現場觀察表明,在後果期間,蠕蟲總是渴望攝取任何粘液殘留物,這意味著苗條是獵人的能量密集戰略。

進化史

已經表明,來自早寒武紀時期的5億年前的化石看起來非常類似於活石灰。然而,證據還揭示了這些化石生物生活在海洋中,人們認為,地球生活方式的主要進化變化必鬚髮生在1千萬到7千萬年之間。雖然化石記錄與活物種的準確比較是眾所周知的困難,古生物學家仍然認為節肢動物和甲殼動物之間的密切相似之處將通知重建一個共同的節肢動物祖先的任務。

行為

研究揭示了強烈的社會等級制度的證據。例如,一個物種形成由一個優勢女性控制的母系殖民地。對於這些群體,狩獵是一種公共活動,其中隨後的敗壞總是根據等級享受,並且隊列跳躍下降被常規地懲罰代碼違例。

性生殖是精神病的常規 - 儘管單性生殖繁殖發生在一個女性唯一的物種。在受精後,妊娠期可以延長至15個月,幾乎所有的甲癬熊都活著年輕。沒有可見的發育階段,所以在出生時,每個微小的蠕蟲看起來就像一個小成人的副本。

What is a Velvet Worm?

The Velvet Worm, which belongs to a genus better known to scientists as Onychophora, is a tropical land animal which frequents dark, humid, moisture-rich environments. Large specimens of these carnivorous invertebrates can measure up to eight inches long and are typically encountered amongst decaying wood on the rainforest floor. There are around 180 recorded species of velvet worm, many of which have distinctive colouring and markings, and though their behaviour has attracted much attention, scientists are particularly interested in onychophora because the population has experienced no significant evolution in 500 million years.

Appearance

Onychophora ('claw bearers') have a smooth-looking outer skin and characteristically short stumpy feet equipped with fibrous hooked claws. Unlike arthropods (centipedes and spiders), to whom they are closely related, onychophora do not possess a hard skeleton. Instead they have a pressurised, fluid-filled body enclosed in a waterproof skin. This slug-like skin layer consists entirely of papillae: very small fleshy dimples or overlapping plates which form a sensory mechanism conveying touch and smell, and also give these worms their distinguishing velvety appearance.

Characteristics

Having anything from 13 to 43 feet, onychophora wriggle along by altering the fluid pressure inside their hollow feet. They have two distinct modes of walking, using their robust claws to gain traction on rough surfaces, and then switching to fluid-filled 'cushions' for less-demanding conditions. This primary dependence on body fluids makes the velvet worm, in common with most worm species, very vulnerable to the drying effects of sunshine and means the animal is generally reclusive by day, hunting overnight or otherwise during spells of damp weather.

Perhaps the most spectacular feature of onychophora is their ability to emit quantities of slime when hunting prey. Having first located and ambushed a smaller invertebrate, the velvet worm uses two powerful glands positioned on its head to quickly spray a layer of slime over its victim. This adhesive mucus substance hardens rapidly, allowing the worm to administer a fatal bite and then inject enough saliva into the resultant wound to break down the victim's internal organs into an easily digestible 'soup'. Field observations of these attacks show that, during the aftermath, worms are always keen to ingest any slime remnants, which would suggest sliming is an energy-intensive strategy for the hunter.

Evolutionary history

It has been shown that 500-million-year-old fossils from the early Cambrian period look remarkably similar to living onychophora. However, the evidence also reveals these fossil creatures lived a marine existence, and it is believed the major evolutionary change to a terrestrial lifestyle must have occurred between 10 and 70 million years later. Though accurate comparison of fossil records with living species is notoriously difficult, palaeontologists nevertheless believe the close similarities between arthropods and onychophora will inform the task of reconstructing a common arthropod ancestor.

Behaviour

Studies have revealed evidence of strong social hierarchies. For instance, one species forms matriarchal colonies controlled by one dominant female. For these groups, hunting is a communal activity in which the subsequent spoils are always enjoyed according to rank, and queue-jumping inferiors are routinely punished for code transgressions.

Sexual reproduction is the norm for onychophora - though parthenogenic reproduction occurs in one female-only species. Following fertilisation, and a gestation period which can extend to 15 months, almost all onychophora bear live young. There is no visible developmental phase, so at birth, each tiny worm arrives looking exactly like a small adult replica.